Student Quote of the Week: Hair


“Hermione’s hair goes from really poofy in the first movie, to straighter and straighter in each movie.”

“Well, sometimes our hair changes as we get older. When I was your age, I didn’t have curly hair. But now look at it! It’s very curly.”

*Eyes widen in shock* “WHAT?? That’s so weird. My mom says my hair is turning brown. But I don’t want it to! Brown hair will make me look old!”

“Hang on a minute–are you saying that look old because my hair’s brown??”

*scoff* “No!! I’m talking about me. I would look old with brown hair, not you!”

“Oh, OK. That’s alright then I guess.”

5 thoughts on “Student Quote of the Week: Hair

  1. Haha! So cute. I was the only one out of my siblings born with brown hair. It was straight until my early twenties when it started getting curly and wavy. I couldn’t be happier. Now I’ve got gray hairs coming in and I love them! They seem to have a mind of their own. Plus, I’m going gray at the temples, which means sometimes I get a really cool gray streak right in the front. :-)))))

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My hair got darker once I hit my 20s.
    Curious about your curly hair, though. My 12-yr-old daughter has fairly straight hair with a slight wave to it. But over the past few months she has started getting curls just along her brow. It’s an odd mix and makes her hair always look unkempt. We’re flummoxed how to deal with it since it’s too short to stay back when she ties her hair back and it’s a little too short/widespread to clip down with bobby pins or barrettes. But it’s only along her brow, from ear to ear. I’ve wondered if maybe her hair might be slowly turning curly since I do have an aunt with curly hair. (Her hair has always been a very slow grower, she’s never been able to get it to grow much past her shoulders)

    Like

    • Interesting! I don’t remember exactly what the process of straight-ish to curly looked like for me. I do remember my mom giving me a perm once (back in the day when that was the “in” thing to do). After that wore off, my hair started to curl completely on its own. I guess it had the natural inclination there for curling and just needed the stimulation? Who knows. Lol

      I think I’d be at a loss about your daughter’s hair too. Sounds like it might be going through some sort of change “phase” like you said. I don’t know if there’s anything to do about the curls apart from straightening them every day, which is a lot of work not to mention the risk of heat damage. But maybe using some sort of product would help tame it at least? I personally love argan oil and/or cream products (not a fan of gel because it makes my hair crunchy, but that is another option if you need good hold). I recently switched to the Shea Moisture hair care line and love it! Makes my hair really soft and shiny, plus they don’t have the sulfates & other chemicals other hair products use that dry out and damage hair (particularly important for curly hair, which is almost always dry). They have a nice leave-in conditioner and “styling milk” that hydrates and softens my curls. I also only shampoo my hair maybe once or twice a month and the rest of the time “co-wash,” or wash with conditioner only, focusing on the scalp, where the roots of the hair receive nutrients. And then I only “wash” my hair every 2-3 days, depending on its needs. The other days I just spray a little water on it to reactivate the products from yesterday & tame the fly aways, & that’s all it needs. Of course, it all depends on her hair type. Mine’s the usual dry curly hair, so it needs as much natural oils as the scalp can produce. That means washing too often is actually bad for it. But if she has oily hair, then of course it needs to be washed more often. Anyway, I’m by no means a hair expert, so take any advice here with a grain of salt. 😉 Those are just a few tips I’ve picked up over the years from the good ol’ interweb. Good luck!

      Like

      • Thanks. If there was a good time for this to happen, now is probably good since we are in the midst of teaching her how to take care of her own hair. We can learn together! It’ll take some getting used to since, with my hair, I never let conditioner touch my scalp.
        I just found http://www.naturallycurly.com/ forums – think I will browse them a but but I’m already seeing a lot of similar advice to yours. 🙂 I’m betting some oil or cream to help protect those flyaways might help while the rest of her hair changes. I’ll have to monitor her hair – I bet the oily/dryness may fluctuate as the curls come in.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes! That’s a very useful website. Even though I do wash my scalp with conditioner, I’m careful to wash it out really good after letting it sit for a few minutes, so there’s no buildup. Oh, speaking of…I forgot to mention that it’s very important to rinse curly hair in cold water. The cold water helps to lock in moisture because it makes the hair follicles close up or something like that, whereas hot water opens them up, making hair appear frizzier. Which is why rainy days are bad for my hair. It instantly opens up and starts reaching for the warm moisture in the air. 😂 Haha! I’m sure you’ll come across that advice and more though on that site. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

