Nothing (An Easter Poem)


image

What is faith without the cross?
What’s hope with no empty tomb?
All other paths lead only to loss;
Lies that mask the doom.
But there is a Door, the cost is paid
By one who gave His all.
My soul is claimed, at His feet it is laid.
     Give me Christ or nothing at all!

What is freedom without a Savior?
What’s peace without the Lamb?
Empty words that ne’er can deliver
From the justice of “I Am.”
Works of a dead and rotten heart
Before His purity fall.
Lord, let me not rely on my part.
     Give me Christ or nothing at all!

What is joy without the Son?
What’s love with no sacrifice?
Atoned by the blood of the Holy One
Whose merit alone will suffice,
Boundless grace replaced my chains
With a crown. In Thy glory enthralled,
I’ll lift my voice in loudest praise:
     Give me Christ or nothing at all!

What is life without His death?
What’s my heart apart from Him?
Refuse, filth and foulest breath,
Decayed and ravaged by sin.
Give me not the world and its pleasures
In the end to dust they will fall.
Thy eternal love I’ll gladly treasure.
     Without Christ, I’m nothing at all.

3 thoughts on “Nothing (An Easter Poem)

Leave a Reply

