The Hidden Blessings of the To-Do List


As this is the month for being thankful, I thought I would take my typical to-do list and turn it instead into a “thankful” list. And since I will be on a cruise with my husband and family next week (woo-hoo!!), I’m sharing it early while I still have internet access. Many blessings on you all, and happy Thanksgiving! 🙂


To Do

1. I have to wash the dishes again–but I am thankful for the constant, loving provision the Lord has blessed us with, which is manifested daily in this recurring task.

2. I have to do the laundry again–but I am thankful to have no lack of clean clothes to keep me warm.

3. I have to clean the house again–but I am thankful to have a place to call home, a place which is my own and which fills my heart with joy to make warm and inviting for my husband.

4. I have to cook again–but I am thankful for the abundant stores of food, and for a mother who taught me through instruction and example how to plan, prepare and cook meals with a joyful heart.

5. I have to sweep the floors again–but I am thankful for the steady traffic of feet that reminds me I have a faithful husband, and friends and family who love me; and the dirt they leave behind pales in comparison to the memories left behind.

6. I have to put gas in the car again–but I am thankful to have a working vehicle which safely takes me to each destination. I am also thankful for the friends visited, the fellowship of Sunday worshipers, and the blessing of a stable and rewarding job represented by each gallon in the tank.

7. I have to buy groceries again–but I am thankful the Lord has blessed my husband with a good job and given him the skills and diligence he needs to be a consistent, trustworthy provider.

8. I have to practice my instruments again–but I am thankful for the ability to glorify God and enjoy the beauty He has created in this small way.

9. I have to go teach again–but I am thankful for music, an expression of the creativity and love of God, and that I have the privilege to share my joy with others.

10. I may not get everything on my to-do list done today–but I am thankful for the moments when the Lord gently blows away the clouds of worry and stress that all too often veil my eyes, and instead with a loving but firm correction draws my gaze away from my own fumbling fingers and onto His strong, unchanging hands. It is in those very hands, in which rests the entire universe, that my life can be found. And I know He will be faithful to never let go.

Therefore, I am thankful to have a To-Do list, because it reminds me of everything I have to be thankful for.


Happy Thanksgiving from the Florentino duo!

One thought on “The Hidden Blessings of the To-Do List

Leave a Reply

